RSS

Where is the best place for science: USA or EU?

23 Jun

I was recently exchanging e-mails with a colleague of mine who happens to pursue his Ph.D. in one of the best universities in USA. I said that he was lucky, now that Obama was the president, the scientific research would be in a much better position compared to the previous administration. His reply took me by surprise:

“I don’t think even Obama can save this country. Europe is the place to be for science…”

What do you think?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2009 in Science

 

7 responses to “Where is the best place for science: USA or EU?

  1. April

    June 24, 2009 at 04:47

    Pretty good post. I just came across your site and wanted to say
    that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case
    I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

     
  2. Ahmet Emre Aladağ

    June 24, 2009 at 13:51

    Didn’t he specify any reason for his claim? As I heard, Europe provides more comfortable/relax conditions for research whereas in North America, scientists are under high pressure to work hard. He might have claimed that way because of that.

    One more point, what my professors in Canada said was that universities in Europe tought “old AI” whereas universities in N.America tought “new AI”. I don’t know what they mean by old/new but it gives me the impression that N. America is far more advanced in Science, at least in CS. (Maybe Physics is an exception).

    When they were guiding me for masters, they suggested directly N. America and there was really no metion of Europe. I felt like Europe didn’t have the reputation as good as N. America and should be considered as the second option.

     
  3. Emre Sevinc

    June 24, 2009 at 22:42

    A comment from another friend, doing her Ph.D. in neuroscience in one of the top British universities: Maybe it is the case that USA has lots of funds and spend too much whereas EU doesn’t have that much and spends much more carefully.

    As for Old AI versus New AI stuff I don’t think your professors were being fair. I see both the statistical machine learning and the more symbolically oriented AI research in both parts of the ocean.

     
  4. Tarık

    June 26, 2009 at 11:10

    EU->Germany

     
  5. Özlem

    June 26, 2009 at 21:25

    I’m sure that it is not Turkey.

    Personally I find EU a more comfortable place for doing scientific research in many aspects.

     
  6. Emre Sevinc

    June 26, 2009 at 22:17

    In many aspects, such as…?

     
  7. Ahmet Emre Aladağ

    April 6, 2011 at 13:30

    It’s been almost 2 years since the last comment. Are there any changes in your opinions about this topic?

     

Leave a Reply

 
