RSS

Dutch is all double Dutch to me no more!

27 Sep

After a very intensive, immersive Dutch course organized by Linguapolis at the University of Antwerp I have finished Niveau 1 (Level 1) successfully. It was like a boot camp in the army and I did like it! (much more than I did the one in the Turkish army as you may have easily guessed)

Fireworks in Antwerp (view from our balcony)

Fireworks in Antwerp (view from our balcony)

“The above student took part in the Dutch Immersion Course, level 1, consisting of 90 hours of language teaching in all (6 ECTS-credits).”

Studying together

Studying together

I’m very grateful to my ‘taaldocent’ Sabien van Craenendonck who helped me and my colleagues with great patience, discipline and witty humor. I was also very lucky to be in a class of highly motivated and intelligent people from all over the world. Only the wonderful team work combined with my individual efforts could lead to the current result.

And still studying...

And still studying...

I’m also thankful to the researchers whose names I don’t know, the ones who created a wonderful piece of course material based on important pedagogical principles.

Things get more interesting...

Things get more interesting...

I’ll probably continue with Level 2 (Niveau 2) of the Dutch course which will be not that intensive (3 times a week, lasting about 2.5 months). Even though it seems less intensive compared to previous level it is not going to be easy for me if I’ll be working at a full-time job. But I believe it is worth the trouble because as the old saying goes, “when in Rome, do as the Romans do.” That’s what I have seen from some of the remarkable people in Turkey, who were foreigners and speaking Turkish perfectly.

Enlightment from another perspective: Antwerp University - Building D

Enlightment from another perspective: Antwerp University - Building D

Hopefully, I’ll see the big picture at the end of my linguistic journey… which will be start of another one.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2009 in General

 

Leave a Reply

 
