RSS

Let's compare Belgium and Turkey in terms of prosperity

31 Oct

I have recently discovered an interesting global data set related to the prosperity levels of more than 100 countries: 2010 Legatum Prosperity Index. My first reaction was to compare Turkey and Belgium, the results are described both as a spider graph and a short table:

Legato Prosperity Index - Belgium versus Turkey - Spider Graph

Legatum Prosperity Index - Belgium versus Turkey - Spider Graph



Legatum Prosperity Index - Belgium versus Turkey - Summary Table

Legatum Prosperity Index - Belgium versus Turkey - Summary Table

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2010 in Ekonomi-Politik

 

3 responses to “Let's compare Belgium and Turkey in terms of prosperity

  1. Can

    November 7, 2010 at 18:28

    From the introduction paragraph, I thought you are were going to make some comments on the given data. Surprisingly, no comments followed – you must have thought that they speak for themselves.

    But, definitely they don’t say say the same thing to every one of us. For instance I only have a look at such statistics, never read ad review them in detail. I’m not arguing to that they don’t have any significance, for sure they do, they are based on research and stuff.

    But, as a person who is a Turkish guy currently living in Turkey and who lived in contintental Europe for a quite a bit of time, I also have my personal subjective criteria I use for choosing where to live and when you sum all the data (objective and subjective), Turkey wins with big margin.

    I would like to hear your thoughts as well.

     
  2. Emre Sevinc

    November 7, 2010 at 19:15

    We can have different interpretations of the same numbers but before starting any discussion let me add a few more numbers. First, did you know that %11 of the population in Turkey (between the ages of 15 and 65) is illiterate? My source is here. And second, did you realize that Turkey ranks as 105. in the country listing that reports literacy rates: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_literacy_rate. Before hearing my thoughts, hear my question: How can we talk about the progress of a healthy democracy in a country with an approx. %11 illiterate population? I consider this a very critical question. I think it is best to continue the discussion based on numbers without resorting to “subjective” data first. (Not that I dismiss subjective data, it is very important personally.)

     
  3. Can

    November 7, 2010 at 22:43

    Although you mentioned that you depend on objective data, your arguement is definitely subjective: You claim that Belgium is a “much” more developed country than Turkey, and I guess you think that I defend the opposite.

    So, first all let me clarify: I am not saying that Turkey is a more “developed” country than Belgium. In my previous note I compared the countries with respect to “in which one I would prefer to live.”

    There are lots of other remarks I could make on your message (and sub-messages), so I will try to organize them for being more clear this time:

    – First of all, no precise definiton on what you exactly mean by “literacy” is given (literacy covers a very large scale of definitions, from basic ability to read and write the native language to the completely definition given by the UN which is much wider in scope.) when you use literacy in your arguement that it is related with a healthy democracy. For some amusement, check the first 20 ranked countries in the list you sent with the Wikipedia link and please let me know how many of them you consider as healthy democracies?

    Could we just simply and solely -with no precautions- tell that Turkey would be a better democracy if it had 100% literacy rate?

    – The UNDP emphasizes correctly emphasizes many other critera when taking “education” as one of the factors which contributes to the human development level in a country, which tries to evaluate the quality of the education rather than basic reading ability. The list you sent is based on the narrower definition of literacy and countries are very close to each other. The difference between Israel (59th with 97.1%) and Turkey (105th with 88.7%) is 9 points only. Note that in another study made by TUIK, the literacy rate of Turkey in 2009 was reported as 92.45%.

    In my following comment, I will go on with my main objections to your logic, if you also would like to (and allow me) go on with this discussion.

    As a last note, I am writing in English because I respect your choice. Needless to say, I would feel much comfortable in Turkish.

     

Leave a Reply

 
