RSS

Mouse Gestures Recognition in Emacs

22 Nov

I just realized that Emacs has mouse gesture recognition and it is called strokes-mode. I enabled it simply by M-x strokes-mode and then by invoking M-x strokes-global-set-stroke I created a very simple mouse gesture (by pressing left mouse button and dragging leftwards it along a more or less straight line) and then after pressing the right mouse button (that is the rightmost mouse button with scroll moused, mouse 3 in Emacs terminology) assigned the kill-buffer function to the mouse gesture. After that I pressed Shift and then dragged the mouse while pressing the middle button and saw that it correctly interpreted the gesture by invoking kill-buffer function.

Mouse gestures in Emacs

Mouse gestures in Emacs

Immediate help about gesture recognition is available via M-x strokes-help. You can learn more about the internals of gesture recognition in Emacs simply by reading the source code at http://git.savannah.gnu.org/cgit/emacs.git/tree/lisp/strokes.el

Not that I’d prefer using mouse gestures for simple commands but nevertheless I was surprised to discover yet another feature of Emacs which helps its fame of being called “… has everything but the kitchen sink”😉

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 22, 2010 in Emacs, Programlama

 

One response to “Mouse Gestures Recognition in Emacs

  1. Ruben Berenguel

    December 7, 2010 at 21:57

    Indeed, strokes-mode is very powerful. I had been using it for a while, but when I got my Mac, I gave up: I was no longer using a mouse (the trackpad of a Mac is so good you tend to prefer it over a mouse, unless the task requires very high precision). I used it to start EMMS (the Emacs Multimedia System), that I used before I got an iPod and switched to… iTunes. Although I love EMMS:-/ Have you tried it?

    Cheers,

    Ruben
    In my blog: The Emacs 30 Day Challenge: Use just emacs for (almost) everything for 30 days

     

Leave a Reply

 
